• Home
  • News
  • Kathryn, Daniel, Coco, Vice + more win at the 48th Guillermo Mendoza awards

Kathryn, Daniel, Coco, Vice + more win at the 48th Guillermo Mendoza awards

Kathryn and Daniel are the youngest recipients of Box Office King and Queen!

Cheska Espina
Cheska Espina

4/24/2017 in News
Kathryn, Daniel, Coco, Vice + more win at the 48th Guillermo Mendoza awards

Kapamilya stars ruled another award-winning body this year: the 48th Box Office Entertainment Awards of Guillermo Mendoza Memorial Scholarship Foundation.


Vice Ganda and Coco Martin received the Phenomenal Stars of Philippine Cinema award for their super blockbuster film "The Super Parental Guardians."


Kapamilya love teams also reigned supreme, having bagged major awards. LizQuen (Liza Soberano and Enrique Gil) bagged the Most Popular Love Team of the year while JaDine (James Reid and Nadine Lustre) received the Prince and Princess of Philippine Television.


KathNiel (Kathryn Bernardo and Daniel Padilla),on the other hand, were the youngest recipients of Box Office King and Queen for their blockbuster movie "Barcelona: A Love Untold."


Breakthrough love teams JoshLia (Joshua Garcia and Julia Barretto) also bagged the Most Promising Movie Actor and Actress of the Year while McLisse (Mccoy De Leon and Elisse Joson) received the Most Promising Love Team of the Year.


Star Cinema and its box office films were also recognized by GMMSF. 


Inang Olivia Lamasan shared the Most Popular Screenwriter award with Carmi Raymundo. Bb. Joyce Bernal also received the Most Popular Film Director.


Star Cinema was named as the Most Popular Film Producer/Production.


See full list of Kapamilya winners here:

Film Actress of the Year – Vilma Santos
Breakthrough Performance by an Actor in A Single Program – Coco Martin
TV Actor of the Year – Jericho Rosales
TV Actress of the Year – Kim Chiu
TV Supporting Actor of the Year – Arjo Atayde
TV Supporting Actress of the Year – Susan Roces
Most Promising TV Actor of the Year – Joseph Marco
Most Promising TV Actress of the Year – Yassi Pressman
Male Concert Performers of the Year – Martin Nievera & Erik Santos
Female Concert Performers of the Year – Regine Velasquez & Angeline Quinto
Female Recording Artist of the Year – Sarah Geronimo
Most Promising Male Singer/Performer of the Year – Bailey May
Most Promising Female Singer/Performer of the Year – Ylona Garcia
Most Popular Recording/Performing Group - #Hashtags
Breakthrough Child Star of Movies & TV – McNeal “Awra” Briguela
Most Popular Male Child Performer – Simon “Onyok” Pineda
Most Popular Female Child Performer – Xia Vigor
All-Time Favorite Actor – Ian Veneracion
All-Time Favorite Actress – Jodi Sta. Maria
Most Popular TV Program Primetime Drama – "FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano"
Most Popular TV Program Daytime Drama – "The Greatest Love"
Most Popular TV Program-Talent Search/Reality/Talk/Game – "The Voice Kids Season 3"
Most Popular TV Program – Musical Variety/Noontime & Primetime – "ASAP"
Comedy Actress of the Year – Angelica Panganiban
Male TV Host of the Year – Luis Manzano
Female TV Host of the Year – Toni Gonzaga-Soriano
Bert Marcelo Lifetime Achievement Award – Ogie Alcasid


Global Achievement by a Filipino Artist (Plaque of Recognition):


1. "Ang Babaeng Humayo" – Nominated at the 11th Asian Film Awards for: Best Director (Lav Diaz); Best Actress (Charo Santos); Best Screenplay (Lav Diaz)


2. Lav Diaz – Golden Lion Awardee at the 73rd Venice International Film Festival for "Ang Babaeng Humayo" and Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize at the 66th Berlin International Film Festival for "Hele Sa Hiwagang Hapis"


3. Iza Calzado – Yakushi Pearl Award for Best Performer at the 12th Osaka International Film Festival for "Bliss"


Congratulations to all the winners!